I AM TROY DAVIS: 003 (Keeping the Faith)

For the next 363 days, I will be writing entries under the title, ‘I AM TROY DAVIS.’  Moved to pick up the pen not merely by Troy Anthony Davis‘ death/execution, but more so by his life/evolution, I hope that there are those out there who can relate.  If so, we must connect.  We are already connected.  Axé.

Today is my b(earth)day y’all!  34 years ago today, I was born in Pittsburgh, PA on a Sunday at 11:26 pm.  Normally, Ghislaine and I put together some type of party to celebrate, but this year was very low key.  No parties.  No nothing.  Just us two.

Today was definitely set for rest and recuperation.  Last week, I worked more than 72 hours as overnight security for ACL (Austin City Limits).  Last night was another 9 hour shift.  After getting home from the overnight (10:45 pm-8 am), I spent most of my early morning/afternoon in the bed, sleeping.  Around 2:00 pm, I spoke with my parents.  After our brief conversation, I took a nice, long, soothing candlelight bath.  The bath was followed by a wonderful deep-tissue massage by Ghislaine.

Before we knew it, dinner-time was upon us, and we went out for a little Chinese food.  Our dinner conversation centered around what we learned in the last year.  Both of us have done a great deal of internal/personal work since my last born-day, but my most powerful lesson this past year has been that faith lies in your heart.

At our wedding ceremony in February 10, 2007, before making her transition to the realm of ancestors (July 13, 2007), my Grandmother said that FAITH is the “substance of things unseen.”  Those words carry us through to today.  FAITH must be practiced.  The more you have FAITH in something, the more it becomes a part of you.  FAITH, like love, grows the more it is tested.

Today, RAS stands on the verge of something great, something powerful, something transformational.  We are here because we kept the FAITH, against all odds, no matter what our friends, family, or bank accounts told us was possible.  Our music is a reflection of our FAITH in each other, and our FAITH in you.

 
The popular music of today lacks originality, soul and spirit.  The people want more.  We are tired of the pre-packaged, dried-out, synthesized, artistic clones being processed by the machine, and shelved at our local record store/media outlet.  We want truth.

Our world is changing more rapidly than ever.  As technology continues to play a major role in our daily communication with ourselves and others, we must remember to challenge each other to be more than we have ever been before.
We cannot simply retreat to our computer/cellphone/TV screens and hibernate.

Connect with your vision and love.  Nurture that.  Feed it.  Have FAITH that you can accomplish what you put your heart into.  It will be a hard road, but the rewards are mind-blowing!

Our FAITH tells us that everything will be great as long as we remember that we are all connected.  There is no separation.

My name is Jonathan ‘Jbro’ Mahone, and I am one-half of (RAS) Riders Against the Storm.  I AM TROY DAVIS.

Leave a Reply

