I AM TROY DAVIS: 010 (The Meeting)

For the next 355 days, I will be writing entries under the title, ‘I AM TROY DAVIS.’  Moved to pick up the pen not merely by Troy Anthony Davis‘ death/execution, but more so by his life/evolution, I hope that there are those out there who can relate.  If so, we must connect.  We are already connected.  Axé.

Basically, on Wednesday, October 5th, I just wanted to bring Black and Brown folks together to talk about Occupy Wall Street.  An Occupy Austin was planned for the following day, and I wanted to know what other people were thinking/feeling.  There really aren’t many public spaces to have this type of discussion, so I just created one real quick.

About 16 people showed up.  Half I knew.  Half I didn’t.  Everyone that came to the Orun Center of Cultural Arts that evening was thankful for the opportunity to have an informal group discussion.

Over the next few hours, we expressed frustrations and excitement about what most described as an important ‘moment’ to seize.  There were different ideas about next steps, but mainly we just enjoyed the moment of being together; laughing, eating some of Tiger’s famous Caribbean-inspired Tacos, and sharing thoughts about how to move forward collectively.

Before the end of the gathering, we made plans for a larger meeting on October 10th, and decided to meet again the next day at  Occupy Austin’s first General Assembly in front of City Hall.  I am thankful for all that came, and all that are coming.  Axé!

My name is Jonathan ‘Jbro’ Mahone, and I am one-half of (RAS) Riders Against the Storm.  I AM TROY DAVIS.

2 responses to “I AM TROY DAVIS: 010 (The Meeting)

  1. Pingback: I AM TROY DAVIS: 009 (A Call to Rod Starz of Rebel Diaz) | (RAS) Riders Against the Storm

  2. Pingback: I AM TROY DAVIS: 008-012 (The Flow…) | (RAS) Riders Against the Storm

Leave a Reply

