I AM TROY DAVIS: 013 (Love Unconditional)

For the next 352 days, I will be writing entries under the title, ‘I AM TROY DAVIS.’  Moved to pick up the pen not merely by Troy Anthony Davis‘ death/execution, but more so by his life/evolution, I hope that there are those out there who can relate.  If so, we must connect.  We are already connected.  Axé.

Real love has no conditions.  Real love is not proud, or boastful.  Real love does not claim territory.  Real love is limitless.  Real love is eternal.  Real love does not shut down when there is conflict, or disagreement.

If we are truly friends, than our love for each other should be greater than any perceived difference.  We do not have to think the exact same way, share the exact same experiences, worship/pray the same way, or engage in the same exact activities to be friends.

But, we do need love.

The love I seek has no conditions on it.  If you love me, then you can talk to me about where you feel I am falling short.  If you love me, then you will always reach out your hand to me, regardless of how I may have hurt you.  Love does not mean we will not hurt each other, or have different views on how to be.  Love is a choice.

When I say I love you, I mean it.  What do you mean when you say you love me?  Do you mean, I love you only when it is on your terms, or when I live up to your expectations of me?  I can only be me.  If what I do offends you, then if we are truly friends, we should be able to talk about the offense.  And, after that conversation, regardless of whether we agree or not, we should be able to embrace each other, and say, I LOVE YOU.

Otherwise, our love has conditions.  We are all guilty of making judgments in our relationships.  But, please be aware when you are making yours.  And, if those judgments affect your ability to hold my hand, or share thoughts freely, than we are not friends.  We are associates.  We are something else; but, not friends.

Love is unconditional.

We all deal with our emotions differently.  And, I respect that.  We are all learning, and growing.  I am currently re-learning that many peoples love has conditions attached to it.

‘I will love you, if you support this cause.  I will love you, if you think like me.  I will love you, if you don’t challenge me.  I will love you, if you pretend there are no issues between us.  I will love you, if you live on this side of town.  I will love you, if you come from this race, spiritual background, economic class, whatever.’

Love is unconditional.  If I am doing something ‘wrong’ in your eyes, than challenge me to be better.  But, please don’t ignore me, talk with everyone else except me about your issues with me.  And, really your issue is not even with all of me, it’s just about something I said or did.

Do you love me?  Than share with me.  Talk to me.  Come to my house.  Don’t text me.  Call me.  Tell me you care.  Tell me that you are disappointed.  Tell me you can’t stand what I am doing.  Tell me you love me.  Tell me something, anything.

But, don’t be silent.

Don’t sit there and judge.  Don’t let a human disagreement keep us apart.  If, of course, you choose to love me, that means we can get through anything together.

Love is a choice.

Love is unconditional.

My name is Jonathan ‘Jbro Mpeanaji’ Mahone, and I am one-half of (RAS) Riders Against the Storm.  I AM TROY DAVIS.

Leave a Reply

